Howling Winds, Razing Rows and Hat’s for Homeless

Who’s that knocking at my door????? Oh Hello! It’s you again….well please don’t stand crone dollthere in the sandstorm….come in out of that wind! That’s better…sit down…grab a cuppa, by now you have a favourite don’t you? It’s been a busy week here in the hovel…we hags do like to light a fire under our derrière’s now and again and oh man was mine hot this week! Where to start…hmmm…my cupboard is bare…but there were a few new needle quests begun and some brew’s Off the Boil… I’ve been busy this week loading the broom for our trip back to England. We’re taking lots of pressies home for the little ogre’s and hags and have a list of shops in England we’re visiting to get some pressies for ourselves. We also have some hats to send out to a member of the dancing geekDancing Geek Podcast Group. ‘wellwoman’ aka Isobel, who lives in Derbyshire, is collecting hats, mittens, gloves, scarves etc. for the homeless. So if you’re a knitter and on Ravelry please help her out….it’s a great cause and she’s an amazing person! If you’re not on Ravelry (shocked face!) please contact me here if you’d like to donate and I can put you in touch. It’s also been a wild and wooly week outside here in the desert! Wind kicking up so much sand that my balcony looks like a Cornwall beach! Well if you’re comfy now let’s move this palaver along! Podcast of the Week : What can I say about her….? She cracks me up! The dogs crack Tilly Troutme up. Anyone who can get their dog to sing on a podcast deserves a shout out, right?!?! You know who I’m on about….it’s the Great and Wonderful TILLY TROUT! (cheers from the crowd, pennants flying, confetti falling) Not only can she knit and crochet but she gardens too! She’s introduced me to tea’s and infusions I wouldn’t have tried…Twining’s Buttermint…it’s sinfully good. Anyway Tilly Trout…thank you so much for a touch of home when we’re so far away! Mr Hag and I love you lots! Needle Quests There was a bit of frustration this week…as I magicked myself back into the Lace Silk Shawl, Lace Knit Shawl Do overwhich I hadn’t knit on for a week. Now my mistake wasn’t that I’d forgotten where I was exactly, I’d merely neglected to include the purl row on the wrong side. So I’d knit 4 rows of lace before I said outloud…’Ummm that doesn’t look right…!’ Well pickle my horny toads…Bad Bad Hag…So I razed all of the shawl (no life line, that’ll teach me) and began again…but with a lace weight wool. I’ve decided that this one will be knitted up for my MIL to take on her Majorcan holiday in October. I made a bit of progress on my Prohibition Shawl by Elizabeth Zimmerman. In fact I Progress Prohibition Shawl Sneaky Dfinished up the third ball of the Alaska so just one to go before I have to decide to continue with the pattern or design and middle insert myself…I started where you see the square ‘SneakyDragon Podcast’ pin and finished up the last 10 row’s with the previous ball. I’m still working on that crochet square’s blanket! Ho Hum…here’s the updated picture! IceCream Quilt as of July 8 Off the Boil Hat for KAL and stuffWell as I’d mentioned earlier in our chat, I’ve been knitting ‘Hats for the Homeless’ see the thread in the Dancing Geek Podcast group. This was my first hat for this charity and I thoroughly enjoyed knitting it! I’m also using this as an opportunity to reduce my stash. It’s for a great cause and it’s a win win for everyone involved! You know what? I think everyone should knit for a charity now and again…it’s good for the recipients and it’s good for your knitters soul! I’ve started another one today…in blue!   Well my little Ogre, Byron, was very happy to see his winter set finally completed…he sped around his lounge shouting ‘Yayeee!’ that sums up the response one can expect from a 4 year old…This was fun, for a few reasons…Byrons Set

  1. It was a knit for someone I love very much
  2. I dyed the wool to his spec’s
  3. I knit it with more enthusiasm than I’ve had for anything lately
  4. I was able to learn a new technique

Bless him, he’s my little motivator!   Literature Well tonight is the night I’ve been waiting for! I’ve not been able to read much each night as I’ve been wheel of timequite tired. However last night, the group had met the Green Man and are headed into the Eye of the World – This has been as wild a ride the second time as it was the first! Rand, Perrin, Mat, Egwene, Nynaeve, Lan and Moraine have had a new friend join them. Loial the Ogier – he’s a Tree Song Singer and Book Nerd wrapped into one! The last few chapters have seen the crew hiding from Fades and Trollocs; not to mention being captured by the White Cloaks. All of this in parallel with Perrin struggling to accept his true second nature… The first of many crucial battle’s with Ba’Alzamon are to be fought in the next few pages. So tonight I’m looking forward to a nice cup of tea on my nightstand and my book in my hand. God rest your soul Robert Jordan and thank you…   Health News Well my brother in law has had a quadruple bypass this week. You probably imagined an overweight stout man in his 60’s ? Eeeeeeeehhhh wrong! Ron is in his early 40’s and thin as a rail. So what caused the hardening in his arteries you asked…well lifestyle and genetics…Heart Healthy Cardiovascular disease runs in his family and he smokes, which obviously doesn’t help. But in Ron’s case there is a family history of this, in fact his Father underwent the same surgery for the same problem a decade ago and HE DOESN’T smoke. Doctors today can actually use a method called the ‘Framingham Score’ to determine one’s risk and what category a person may lie in. There is a much more detailed article on the AHA (American Heart Association Website) please follow the link. High cholesterol is one of the primary causes of heart disease. The CDC offers the following definition: Cholesterol is a waxy substance produced by the liver or consumed in certain foods. It is needed by the body, and the liver makes enough for the body’s needs. When there is too much cholesterol in the body—because of diet and the rate at which the cholesterol is processed—it is deposited in arteries, including those of the heart. This can lead to narrowing of the arteries, heart disease, and other complications. I guess what I’m trying to say is this:

  • If there’s a family history of cardio vascular disease get yourself check out
  • Watch your diet; I know it’s nearly impossible these days to avoid bad cholesterol but be concious of what you’re putting in your mouth.
  • Exercise is important…even my chubby little hag bum exercises each day…you can fit it in if you try.
  • Encourage friends and family to avoid cigarettes and alcohol….a glass of wine now and again can’t hurt but drinking daily is no way to stay healthy.

Well my pretty’s I must ask you to gather your knitting and leave me to my thoughts now. So until next week, keep well and happy! Yours in Wicked Stitches The Hag

About jennbolton

I'm a knitter with a penchant for all good food and books One of the afore mentioned have forced me into a battle...can you guess? I'll be writing about it on my blog along with my knitting adventures and reviews of good books, well books I think are good. I'm interested in comments and discussions, adult comments and discussion that is.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Howling Winds, Razing Rows and Hat’s for Homeless

  1. valeria1966 says:

    Hi Jenn, I wish all well wishes to your BIL and that he’ll be fine now for the many years to come. My dad had bypasses too and had many years extra so I hope that will be the case for Ron too.

    You had me chuckle too because you’re so funny 🙂 Wishing you a save travel by broom, don’t loose your twigs and hold on to the couldron 😉 hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennbolton says:

      Hi V!
      Thanks for returning each week…I love you! hahaha
      I’ll pass on your good wishes to Rebecca and Ron…
      I didn’t know you’re father had had a bypass…gosh…

      I’m out tomorrow so I hope to get some shots around Doha and post them before we leave next week..
      No worries re: the Broom – our other broom is a Boeing 787 so we should be okay if my broom breaks down! hahaha
      Later Tater
      Jenn xx

      Like

  2. Alice says:

    Jenn, hope you have a lovely trip, look forward to hearing all about it when you return

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennbolton says:

      Hi Alice! Thanks for visiting! I hope all’s well with you!
      I’ll be sure to take pictures at home and post them –
      Stay tuned in August as I’ll be letting everyone know about my Autumn giveaways (September, October, November and December)
      Take care!
      Jenn

      Like

  3. valeria1966 says:

    How’s Ron doing now Jenn?? Is he ok?

    Like

  4. jennboltonn says:

    Hey V…
    He’s till in hospital – St. Joe’s in Syracuse NY USA….they’re going to release him and my sister will be taking time off work to stay at home with him whilst he convalesces…
    Hope you’re well…
    I’ll be in rav later today, just had some things to bake etc.
    Hugs
    Jenn (c:

    Like

Leave a Reply

